Sheet Music

Many things might inspire me to write a tune: A newly-found sound or chord, an idea from my composition classes or even an unexpected crash with reality (also, earlier in my studies, when I didn’t want to practice my classical piano homework). The results of these moments can be heard in concerts and on records, may be bought in my Shop, and can be downloaded as lead sheets on this page:

  • Count Popula | listen / buy:  | One of my first assignments in my composition classes with Jonas Schoen from 2008: A vamp-based tune. At the time I was reading Count Dracula, and with a little detour to the American cereal brand Count Chocula and the elevated amount of Pop to be found in this vamp(ier) I came up with the title.
  • Das Käuzchen | listen to an excerpt | This tune was written for those concerts where my band Grenzbereiche is supplemented by Jonas Schoen to make one loveable quintett. Thinking about Jonas’s and Christin’s playing I had longed to write a fast tune for quite a while. And as I had always wanted to say: “The next piece is dedicated to myself”, I dedicated it, well, to myself. That is indeed a bit strange, but in a nice way, hopefully. The German title is a play on it being strange – kauzig – and the German word for screech owl: Das Käuzchen.
  • Ears & Whiskers | This piece secretly is of the Alice variety (see Until there was further down). In fact, they share the same melody, just a half-step lower. Luckily one wouldn’t know … The title then reveals its family bonds – it’s a reference to the rabbit from Alice In Wonderland. When he’s rushing to the Queen he gasps: “Oh my ears and whiskers, how late it’s getting!” And that’s just too cute not to pay an homage to!
  • Georgeophil, Geoffophob | listen / buy:  | I once knew a boy, let’s call him George. He had huge mood swings. And when he entered a room you could never be sure if he’d be nice or if he was going to insult everyone. This little tune is dedicated to him. Just as with him, you can never be sure where you’re at here. Just a second ago it was in 7/4 and Db major, now its in 8/4 D major. And don’t get me started with those sudden 3/4 bars …
  • Hinter den Spiegeln: please see below Until there was
  • H.K. | Once again this piece was inspired by my composition classes with Jonas Schoen. Starting with the melody from the well-known German children’s song Hänschen Klein we could do as we liked. An unexpected hat tip to Niki Thärichen who came up with the first chord.
  • L’après-midi d’un Faufs | listen / buy:  | In the early days of my studies in Hannover, one afternoon my arrangement teacher said: Avoid minor ninth intervals in chord voicings, they won’t sound good. I thought this was a challenge so I wrote this peace. The main motive is full of minor ninth and major seventh intervals. But it does sound!
  • Schein-Pappenstiel | listen / buy:  | The solo form consists only of four bars Db major over C major, followed by four bars of Eb-something (thanks to Mr Stravinsky) – this should be easy as pie (in German: ein Pappenstiel). But it just seems that way (Schein).
  • Three Pipe Chord Tune | Sherlock Holmes likes to measure the difficulty of a case by the number of pipes he will have to smoke until he has solved it. Three Pipes are equal to a really difficult one. Just as with this tune.
  • Until there was | listen / buy:  | Part I of the Alice Suite. Written out of happyness and sadness over a good-bye for a long time. Being torn between those two poles became this floating between major and minor, chromatic and diatonic, amongst others. The title is a quote from Alice in Wonderland: But she went on all the same, shedding gallons of tears until there was a large pool all around her.
  • Hinter den Spiegeln | listen / buy:  | Part II of the Alice Suite. Return. Lots of F#m11, which is in Indian theory (if I remember correctly) a healing chord, and one of the most beautiful.
  • Was bleibt | listen / buy:  | A ballad, written in the spring of 2007 when I realized that I would need a slow tune for my auditions for the conservatory. The title (“What remains”) is – contrary to what most believe – not at all meant depressed.

n/a

Noten

Wenn ich schreibe kann das viele Gründe haben: Ein zufällig gefundener Klang oder Akkord, nach einer Anregung aus dem Kompositonsunterricht oder dem unvermuteten Kontakt mit dem wahren Leben, und früher auch mal bei einem akuten Anfall von Klassikübe-Unlust. Was dann passiert, kann man in Konzerten und auf CDs hören, in meinem Shop kaufen, und hier in Notenform als Leadsheet herunterladen:

  • Count Popula | anhören / kaufen:  | Eine meiner ersten Aufgaben im Kompositionsunterricht bei Jonas Schoen 2008: ein vampbasiertes Stück. Zu der Zeit habe ich Graf Drakula gelesen, auf Englisch Count Dracula, und nach einem Umweg über die amerikanische Kornflakessorte Count Chocula und den erhöhten Popanteil in dem Vamp(ier) bin ich dann bei diesem Titel gelandet.
  • Das Käuzchen | reinhören | Geschrieben für Konzerte, in denen meine Band Grenzbereiche mit Jonas Schoen zum Quintett erweitert auftritt. Ich wollte endlich wieder einmal ein Bratstück schreiben, in Gedanken an Jonas‘ und Christins Spiel. Und weil ich schon immer mal sagen wollte: „Das nächste Stück habe ich mir selbst gewidmet“, habe ich es mir eben selbst gewidmet. Schon etwas kauzig, auf eine Art. Hoffentlich aber trotzdem sympathisch.
  • Ears & Whiskers | Insgeheim gehört dieses Stück in die Reihe der Alice-Stücke (siehe Until there was weiter unten), im Prinzip ist es die gleiche Melodie, nur einen Halbton tiefer. Aber zum Glück fällt das niemandem auf … Der Titel verrät dann doch die Verwandtschaft – eine Anspielung auf den Hasen, der bei Alice im Wunderland zur Königin eilt und dabei keucht: „Oh my ears and whiskers, how late it’s getting!“ Das ist so putzig, das muss man einfach gern haben. „Ohren und Schnurrbarthaare“ klingt dagegen nicht annähernd so überzeugend.
  • Georgeophil, Geoffophob | anhören / kaufen:  | Einst kannte ich einen Jungen, nennen wir ihn George. Er hatte eine sehr wechselhafte Persönlichkeit und wenn er durch die Tür hereinkam, konnte man sich nie sicher sein, ob er nun seine freundliche Seite zeigen würde oder alle beschimpfen. Dieses Kompositiönchen ist ihm gewidmet, und wie bei ihm weiß man auch hier nie so recht, woran man ist. Eben war es noch ein 7/4 in Des-Dur, schon sind es 8/4 in D-Dur. Von den eingeworfenen Dreiern gar nicht erst zu reden …
  • Hinter den Spiegeln: Siehe unter Until there was
  • H.K. | Wiedereinmal das Resultat einer Anregung aus dem Kompositionsunterricht von Jonas Schoen. Es galt, ausgehend von Hänschen Klein zu schreiben, wie uns der Schnabel gewachsen war. Unerwarteter Dank an dieser Stelle geht an Niki Thärichen, von dem ich den ersten Akkord abgekupfert habe.
  • L’après-midi d’un Faufs | anhören / kaufen:  | In den frühen Tagen meines Studiums in Hannover war unser Arrangement-Dozent eines Nachmittages so unvorsichtig, als Faustregel auszugeben: Vermeide kleine Nonen in Akkorden, das klingt nicht. Ich fühlte mich herausgefordert, und so entstand dieses Stück. Das Ausgangsmotiv ist mit üppigen kleinen Nonen und großen Septimen ausgestattet, und klingt doch.
  • Schein-Pappenstiel | anhören / kaufen:  | Die Soloform besteht nur aus jeweils vier Takten Des-Dur über C-Dur, und dann vier Takten Es-irgendwas (Danke an Herrn Stravinski) – eigentlich sollte das ein Pappenstiel sein. Doch der Schein trügt …
  • Three Pipe Chord Tune | Sherlock Holmes misst die Schwierigkeit seiner Fälle gern in der Anzahl der Pfeifen, die er im Sessel sitzend rauchen muss, bevor er sie gelöst hat. Drei Pfeifen bedeuten einen wirklich schwierigen Fall. Genauso ist es mit diesem Stück.
  • Until there was | anhören / kaufen:  | Teil 1 der Alice-Suite. Entstanden aus Glück und Traurigkeit über einen Abschied auf lange Zeit für eine großartige neue Welt. Inneres Hin- und Hergerissensein wurde zu einem Schweben zwischen Dur und Moll, Chromatik und Diatonik, und solchen Sachen. Der Titel ist ein Auszug aus Alice in Wonderland: But she went on all the same, shedding gallons of tears until there was a large pool all around her.
  • Hinter den Spiegeln | anhören / kaufen:  | Teil 2 der Alice-Suite. Wiederkehr. Viel F#m11, nach indischer Ansicht (wenn ich mich recht entsinne) ein heilender Klang, und einer der schönsten Akkorde überhaupt.
  • Was bleibt | anhören / kaufen:  |  Eine Ballade, geschrieben im Frühling 2007 als mir klar wurde, dass ich für die Aufnahmeprüfungen noch etwas Langsames bräuchte. Der Titel ist, anders als viele vermuten, keineswegs depressiv gemeint.

n/a