Bio

I see my work and interest as well behind the keys as in front of music paper. I got into the first one rather late in my teenage years, but even more so at that. When I still lived in Berlin I had lessons with Tim Sund; since my studies in Hannover and later on Rotterdam I studied with Buggy Braune, Bernd HomannMarkus Horn and Rob van Bavel.

The other – the music paper – has been an important companion of mine at least since the pre-study course I took in Berlin from 2005-7. Starting with my studies in Hannover I regularly took composition classes with Julia Hülsmann and Jonas Schoen, with whom I enjoy an intense and wonderful collaboration both on stage an on music paper.

I was solo award winner at Winning Jazz. I am also pianist of a number of big bands, namely the LJJO Berlin (conductors: Joe Gallardo, Jonas Schoen) and the LaJJazzO Brandenburg (conductor: Jiggs Whigham). Together with the LaJJazzO we have won the Deutscher Orchesterwettbewerb (German competition for orchestras) in November 2010. Shortly before that we recorded both a CD and a radio broadcast with the RBB station in Berlin.

My first full-blown CD Grenzbereiche has been published in spring 2011 at schoener hören music. It features a number of my pieces for jazz quartet, wonderfully performed by my quartet by the same name, Grenzbereiche.

n/a

Bio

Ich sehe meine Arbeit und mein Interesse sowohl hinter den Tasten als auch vor dem Notenpapier. Mit dem einen kam ich zwar erst recht spät im jugendlichen Alter in Kontakt, dafür aber umso eifriger. Als ich noch in Berlin wohnte, erhielt ich Unterricht von Tim Sund; seit Beginn des Studiums in Hannover und später dann in Rotterdam lernte ich bei Buggy Braune, Bernd HomannMarkus Horn und Rob van Bavel.

Das andere – das Notenpapier – ist spätestens seit meiner Zeit in der Studienvorbereitung von 2005-7 in Berlin ein wichtiger Begleiter. Mit Beginn des Musikstudiums in Hannover nahm ich regelmäßige Kompositionsstunden bei Julia Hülsmann und Jonas Schoen, mit dem mich mittlerweile eine rege Zusammenarbeit auf der Bühne wie auf dem Notenpapier verbindet.

Im Jahr 2009 war ich Solistenpreisträger bei Winning Jazz. Außerdem bin ich Pianist des LJJO Berlin (Ltg. Joe Gallardo, Jonas Schoen) und LaJJazzO Brandenburg (Ltg. Jiggs Whigham). Mit dem LaJJazzO haben wir im November 2010 den Deutschen Orchesterwettbewerb gewonnen, kurz zuvor war auch eine CD sowie eine Radioproduktion mit dem RBB entstanden.

Meine erste komplett eigene CD Grenzbereiche wurde im Frühling 2011 bei schoener hören music veröffentlicht. Darauf finden sich eine Reihe meiner Stücke für Jazzquartett, herzallerliebst gespielt von meinem gleichnamigen Quartett, Grenzbereiche.


n/a